Jammu & Kashmir is no longer a state now from midnight of Wednesday, they are now two Union Territories Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh. After 3 months of scrapping Article 370 this notification comes on late night on Wednesday replaced the state of Jammu and Kashmir with the “union territory of Jammu and Kashmir” and announced omission of “permanent residents or hereditary state subjects”.

“… there are references in the state laws that have been applied to the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir, and the Union Territory of Ladakh to the expressions ‘permanent residents’ or ‘hereditary state subjects’…, wherever they occur, shall be omitted,” it said.

The new UT’s have come into existence on the 144 birth anniversary of Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel, who is credited for the merger of over 560 princely states into the Union of India. Today, October 31, is also celebrated as National Unity Day.

Now there are 28 States and 9 UT’s in India. Jammu and Kashmir will continue to have a legislature, like in Puducherry, Ladakh will be without one, like Chandigarh.

The centre will be in direct control of the police and law and order in Jammu and Kashmir, while decisions on land will be the elected government’s jurisdiction. Ladakh will be under the direct control of the central government, which will administer it through the Lieutenant Governor.

The government has also said that Jammu and Kashmir will not stay a Union Territory and its statehood will be restored at an “appropriate time” after “normalcy” returns.

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x